Main Navigation

Attending Site Visit Peer Team

Dr. Francisco C. Rodriguez
Los Angeles Community College District (LACCD), Chancellor
Team Chair

Francisco C. Rodriguez, Ph.D. has served as Chancellor of the Los Angeles Community College District (LACCD) since 2014, the largest community college district in the nation with nine accredited colleges, and 200,000 student enrollments. As CEO, he is responsible for strategic and long-range academic planning, fiscal stewardship, facilities and capital outlay, and enrollment management. Under his leadership, Dr. Rodriguez has increased revenues to the District, hired over 1000 full-time, tenure-track faculty, bolstered faculty and staff racial and gender diversity, expanded community and business engagement and philanthropy, and led two successful local facilities bond measures totaling over 8.6 billion. Prior to LACCD, Dr. Rodriguez served as president at Cosumnes River College in Sacramento and as superintendent/president of the MiraCosta Community College District in north San Diego County.

Dr. Char Perlas
College of the Siskiyous, Superintendent/President
Team Vice Chair

Dr. Perlas has 25 years of professional experience in the California Community College system, serving in roles as tenured faculty, program manager, accreditation lead and administrator. Dr. Perlas joined College of the Siskiyous (Siskiyous) in July of 2019 as the vice president of academic affairs where she contributed to equity efforts through her leadership with the Enrollment Management, Guided Pathways and Social Justice Equity Diversity Inclusion (SJEDI) committees. In February of 2021, Dr. Perlas was appointed interim superintendent/president and on July 1, 2022 was named the permanent superintendent/president. She is the first Asian American woman to hold the superintendent/president position at Siskiyous and the third female superintendent/president since the College’s inception in 1957. Dr. Perlas holds a Bachelor of Art in Psychology from CSU Fresno, a Master of Science in Counseling from CSU Sacramento, a Master in Public Administration from CSU East Bay, and a Ph.D. in Education with an emphasis in Leadership for Higher Education from Capella University.

Carina Lin
City College of San Francisco (CCSF), Counseling Services 
Faculty Team Member

Carina Lin is a full-time tenured-track counselor at the John Adam campus in the Counseling Services and Programs department at City College of San Francisco (CCSF). She has been at CCSF since August 2017 in credit general counseling, non-credit and Credit ESL counseling, credit vocational/CTE counseling in Healthcare Technology programs, and recently, CalWORKs counseling. While working at John Adam Campus at CCSF, Ms. Lin provides vocational counseling to students pursuing EMT, Paramedic, RN, LVN, Radiology, Medical Assisting, CVT, EKG, Health Information Technology, Phlebotomy, and Healthcare Unit Coordinator programs. Additionally, Ms. Lin has provided ESL credit/non-credit counseling to limited English speaking Vietnamese students at CCSF & Long Beach City College.

Dr. Freddy Ramirez
MiraCosta College, Dean Admissions & Student Support
Administrative Team Member

Dr. Ramirez currently serves as a tenured counseling faculty member in EOP&S/CalWORKs at MiraCosta College. He served as the Interim Dean of Counseling and Student Development until December of 2023. His areas of responsibility included Academic Counseling, Transfer Center, EOPS, SAS (formerly DSPS), and Service Learning. Dr. Ramirez also served for six years as the Dean of Admissions and Student Support, a position that includes Financial Aid, Outreach, Orientation, Veterans Services, Academic Proctoring Center, Assessment, and the International Student Program. Dr. Ramirez holds a Bachelor’s degree in Accounting, a Masters Arts in counseling, an MBA, and an Education Doctorate in Higher Education Leadership with emphasis in Community College Leadership.

Dr. Kevin Bontenbal
ACCJC Staff Liaison, Vice President
Team Member

Non-Attending Site Visit Peer Team

Thank you to the following ACCJC team members for their participation.

Dr. Joshua Bearden
Los Medanos College, Professor of History
Team Member

Dr. Erik Reese
Moorpark College, Professor / Academic Senate President
Team Member

Sandra Wagner
Defense Language Institute Foreign Language Center, Associate Professor
Team Member

Dr. Meeta Goel
Antelope Valley College, Dean Institutional Effectiveness, Research, Planning, and Library Studies
Team Member

Dr. Theresa Rowland
Chabot-Las Positas Community College District, Vice Chancellor, Educational Services & Student Success
Team Member