Main Navigation
IVC Men's Soccer Team

Irvine Valley College's men's soccer team stood out on the field and in the classroom during the 2021-22 season. The team has received a state scholar-team of the year award in men's soccer from the California Community College Athletic Association (CCCAA). The accolade is especially significant as 2021-22 was the last season for legendary coach Martin McGrogan who retired last summer after starting the IVC program 31 years ago. The squad will officially be recognized on March 29 at the CCCAA state awards luncheon in Sacramento.

"On behalf of the students who actually earned it and the staff that shepherded them, thank you," IVC Dean of Kinesiology, Health, and Athletics Keith Shackleford said. "With the team's athletic leaders achieving 3.50 or better, these student-athletes represent a high level of achievement. While taking an average of more than 16 units during that fall term in the season of sport, 23 players hit a 3.00 GPA or above. The group was geared for academic success."

On the field, Irvine Valley played one of the toughest schedules in the state (with all home games at the OC Great Park), finished tied for third in one of the top conferences, and reached the California Community College Athletic Association So. Cal. Regional Playoffs.

Irvine Valley freshman forward Ivan Lopez was named co-MVP after an impressive season. Sophomore defender and captain Garrett Hayes, sophomore midfielder and captain Victor Onofre and freshman midfielder Marco Ronchini were picked as first team all-OEC. IVC also had freshman defender Domenyk Jara and freshman defender Steven Osuna named second team all-conference.

Players on the 2021-22 scholar athlete team included:

Izzy Abdelkader, Sam Al Qarghuli, Edgar Cardoso, Emiliano Chaves, Cole Costa, Matthew Cox, Andrew Darke, Lorenzo DiCioccio, Jared Dissman, Kyler Doverspike, Garrett Hayes, Joe Heaney, Isaac Hernandez, Thomas Hutchinson, Domenyk Jara, Amar Karabeg, Kade Knutson, Luco Krasnow, Diego Llergo, Ivan Lopez, Diego Navarro, Victor Onofre, Christopher Osuna, Steven Osuna, Dave Otoya, Marco Ronchini, Sean Salah, Armando Sanchez, Max Stec, Luke Steinbock, Julian Svoboda, Adem Toskic.