IVC News

Caring Campus Ambassador Award Recipients Named

Friday, January 14, 2022

IVC President John Hernandez announced the two winners of the college’s inaugural Caring Campus Ambassador Awards last week. IVC is a leader in the Caring Campus movement, a national effort through the Institute for Evidence-Based Change, where Classified professionals work together with faculty and administrators to provide students the support they need to reach their educational goals. For this inaugural annual award, a committee selected one individual and one department that represents the essence of Caring Campus.

Beth SanchezWriting Center Laboratory Technician Beth Sanchez was honored for being “the heart and soul of the center where she works.” Beth participates in a number of campus events and initiatives and is always willing to lend a hand for important projects. Additionally, she is working with the Classified Completion Team to find better ways to support students through Guided Pathways, she has served as a Classified Senate Rep, served for many years on the scholarship committee, is involved in many professional development opportunities in order to continue learning how best to support our students of color, first-generation students, LGBTQ+ students, and others. As stated in her nomination, “Without her kindness, openness, and heart, the Writing Center would not be the safe, welcoming place for students.”

dsc04063.pngThe Facilities Department received the second 2020-21 Inaugural Award for being on campus since the summer of 2020 and maintaining a positive attitude while doing difficult work. They have been essential to keep students, staff, and faculty safe by thoroughly cleaning our spaces, and continued to do so as more of us returned to in-person work and instruction this past spring. They have kept smiles on their faces and positive attitudes while doing all the hard things that many may have been hesitant to do, particularly during the early days of the pandemic. This department made significant strides during the past two years for facilities upgrades, ongoing maintenance and by providing leadership for capital outlay projects. As stated in one of the nominations: “For me, these are our campus unsung HEROES”.

Facilities, Maintenance and Operations Administrators and Staff:

Anna Petrossian
Benjamin Smith
Bing Li
Cameron Looney
Christian Hanson
Daniel Alba
Dean LeBeau
Dewey Flournoy
Efrain Quintanilla
Enrique Hernandez
Freddy Osuna
George Webb
Gloria Delgado
Haley King
Hansel Velazquez
Enrique Hernandez
Jeffrey Hurlbut
Jordan Cenzer
Juan Morales Gutierrez
Jurate Foes
Justin Stewart
Mario Barboza
Mark Wheeler
Maurice Zavala
Michael Leahy
Michael Peak
Miguel Calderon
Milton Hernandez
Nikkita Puliyanda
Parker Davis
Ramon Montiel
Richard Mosqueda
Robert Flournoy
Rosa Lothian
Samuelu Vaeoso
Sergio Ojeda
Silvia Nuno
Steve Ramirez
Susan Sweet
Tanis Araiza
Vasi Valean
Rafael Villanueva Sanchez