Parking at IVC: Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ's)
The Parking FAQ's are below. If you cannot find the information you need, please call (949) 451-5200 or stop by the Parking Services Office in CP100 building located near Lot # 8 and the Baseball Field. We're here to help you understand the rules that you will have to follow if you choose to bring a motorized vehicle to campus. Complete copies of the District's Traffic & Parking Regulations are available at the Irvine Valley College Police Department in Building CP 100, or online.
A: Permits are required 24 hours a day, seven days a week. Irvine Valley College Police Department enforces all California state laws.
A: No. There is no grace period at IVC. Parking regulations and state laws are enforced 24 hours a day, seven days a week.
A: It is common for students to temporarily change vehicles and, as a result, forget their parking permit. If this happens to you, simply stop by one the four Daily Permit Machines and purchase a day permit.
A: NO. Parking permits are your personal property just like books, calculators, and jewelry. To replace a lost permit you will have to purchase another one at the Parking Services Office. As for stolen permits, if you are the victim of a theft you should report the circumstances to Campus Police. If the permit is stolen off-campus, we will need a police report from the jurisdiction in which the theft occurred. Depending on the circumstance of the crime, a stolen permit may be replaced to you free of charge.
A: YES. If you plan to park it on Campus. Motorcycles are restricted to parking within designated spaces set aside for motorcycles.
A: If you get a parking citation you have two options. You MUST do one of the following within 21 days of receiving the citation:
- Pay the citation by mail using the envelope provided with the citation, online, or in person at the Parking Services Office in CP100.
Contest the citation if you believe it was issued in error. You can do this by filing an Initial Administrative Review ONLINE
or at CP 100 (IVCPD). This appeal process is in accordance with the California Vehicle Code, section 40215.
A: If a citation is not paid or appealed within 21 days from the date it was issued, a "Notice of Delinquent Parking Citation" to place a hold on the vehicle registration is mailed to the registered owner of the vehicle. Failure to respond to this notice results in a hold being placed on the vehicle registration through the Department of Motor Vehicles, and a late fee will be applied. If you have five or more unpaid citations at any time, vehicle(s) are subject to immobilization and/or impoundment until you pay the citations and all penalties and impound fees in full.
A: For non-emergency inquiries or assistance, our office hours are Monday through Friday 8:00am until 5:00 pm. IF YOU NEED EMERGENCY ASSISTANCE, you can contact Campus Police anytime (24 hours per day) at the following campus telephone numbers:
|Campus Police Information:
||(949) 451-5200 during regular office hours.|
Q: I HAVE AN ONLINE/DISTANCE LEARNING COURSE AND MY MIDTERM/FINAL IS ON THE IVC CAMPUS. DO I STILL NEED A PERMIT TO PARK?
A: Yes. A parking permit is required to be displayed on all vehicles parking in student or staff spaces at the IVC campus, 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.