Skip Ribbon Commands Skip to main content

Saturday, January 29, 2011

Astounding Inventions highlights handmade inventions by kindergarten through eighth grade students from the Irvine and Tustin Unified School Districts. The competition promotes student interest and learning in math and science. Past participants have appeared on The Tonight Show with Jay Leno and other local programs.

Frances Kroll

Frances Kroll (Irvine)


Jared Disbrow

Jared Disbrow (Tustin)

"Glow in the Dark Stop Sign"

Ty Tassinari

Ty Tassinari (Irvine)

"The Zoo Keeper Toothbrush"

Da'Naya Johnson

Da'Naya Johnson (Tustin)

"Changeable Holiday Picture Frame"

Alisha Ambe

Maggie Piper (Tustin)

"Time to Soap Up"

Michelle Kroll

Michelle Kroll (Irvine)

"Spoon Dock"

Bree Tassinari

Bree Tassinari (Irvine)

"Plate and Silverware Organizer"

Deja Allen

Deja Allen (Irvine)

"Fast Finder"

MacKenzie Ortiz

Mackenzie Ortiz (Tustin)

"The Human Lightning Catcher"

Kate Koeckritz

Kate Koeckritz (Irvine)

"No Doze Eyewear"

Enjoying lots of “hand-on” activities

Applied Science and Engineering Club members help participants launch water rockets.

Young scientists make water rockets with the help of IVC’s Applied Science and Engineering Club.


Tyler Roquemore waits to help demonstrate a
"Mad Chemistry" experiment.


Telescopes were available to view sun spots

Young inventors gather for the awards ceremony

Neal and Jacquie Warren served as volunteer judges.

Robert W. King, CPA served as a volunteer judge.

Irvine Valley College Foundation Board Members Bill Crosby and Julie Davis.

Brandman University Chancellor Gary Brahm, Irvine Chamber CEO Tallia Hart and Tustin Mayor Jerry Amante.

Irvine Mayor Sukhee Kang presents ribbon to a student as SOCCCD Board Member Dr. Frank M. Meldau and Irvine Councilman Dr. Steven Choi look on.

Spectrum Pharmaceuticals President Dr. Rajesh Shrotriya, Tustin Unified School District Board President Lynn Davis, South Orange County Community College Board President Nancy Padberg, SOCCCD Board Member T.J. Prendergast, Cheryl Honig (representing Irvine Councilman Larry Agran), SOCCCD Board Member Dr. Frank M. Meldau, Irvine Councilman Dr. Steven Choi and Irvine Valley College President Dr. Glenn Roquemore.

© 2014 Irvine Valley College