Skip Ribbon Commands Skip to main content

 

Backstage Crew Opportunities
 
Participation in backstage crew is open to all students and community members. Crew members are an essential part of the production team and serve as stagehands, dressers, make-up technicians, lighting operators, and audio/video technicians. No prior experience is required.
The department of theater does a season of four or five productions each year. We typically do one musical and one straight play each semester. Occasionally we do productions in the summer.
Course Credit
 
Backstage crews are made up of students in the following courses:
  • TA141A Theater Crew: Scenic
  • TA141B Theater Crew: Costume
  • TA141C Theater Crew: Lighting
  • TA141D Theater Crew: Audio/Video
  • TA141E Theater Crew: Makeup
Students may also participate in backstage crews as a part of our other courses in design and production, such as:
  • TA41 Lighting Design
  • TA42 Costume Design
  • TA142C Scenic Production C
  • TA163 Costume Sewing, Production, and Wardrobe
Schedule and Attendance
Crew members attend all technical and dress rehearsals and participate in every performance of the show that they are assigned to. Typically, students are assigned to only one show per semester. Since each crew member fulfills a unique role in the production, attendance at all rehearsals and performances is critical. Please review the schedule below for rehearsal and performance times. These schedules are preliminary and may differ slightly from the actual rehearsal schedules. What appears below is presented only as an example for the purpose of helping people assess their ability to participate.
If you are interested in getting involved, contact Professor M. Scott Grabau.
 
Frankenstein Backstage Crew Schedule
Date Call Time End Time Makeup TA141E Costume TA141B Scenic TA141A Lighting TA141C Audio/Video TA141D
Tuesday, September 2 7:00 PM 10:00 PM X X X X X
Monday, October 20 6:00 PM 10:00 PM         X
Tuesday, October 21 6:00 PM 10:00 PM     X X X
Wednesday, October 22 6:00 PM 10:00 PM     X X X
Thursday, October 23 6:00 PM 10:00 PM     X X X
Friday, October 24 6:00 PM 10:00 PM     X X X
Monday, October 27 6:00 PM 10:00 PM X X X X X
Tuesday, October 28 6:00 PM 10:00 PM X X X X X
Wednesday, October 29 6:00 PM 10:00 PM X X X X X
Thursday, October 30 6:00 PM 10:00 PM X X X X X
Friday, October 31 6:30 PM 10:30 PM X X X X X
Saturday, November 1 6:30 PM 10:30 PM X X X X X
Sunday, November 2 12:30 PM 4:30 PM X X X X X
Wednesday, November 5 6:30 PM 10:30 PM X X X X X
Thursday, November 6 6:30 PM 10:30 PM X X X X X
Friday, November 7 6:30 PM 10:30 PM X X X X X
Saturday, November 8 6:30 PM Midnight X X X X X
 
Putnam County Spelling Bee Backstage Crew Schedule
Date Call Time End Time Makeup TA141E Costume TA141B Scenic TA141A Lighting TA141C Audio/Video TA141D
Tuesday, September 2 6:00 PM 10:00 PM X X X X X
Monday, November 24 6:00 PM 10:00 PM         X
Tuesday, November 25 6:00 PM 10:00 PM         X
Monday, December 1 6:00 PM 10:00 PM         X
Tuesday, December 3 6:00 PM 10:00 PM     X X X
Thursday, December  4 6:00 PM 10:00 PM     X X X
Friday, December 5 6:00 PM 10:00 PM     X X X
Monday, December 8 6:00 PM 10:00 PM X X X X X
Tuesday, December 9 6:00 PM 10:00 PM X X X X X
Wednesday, December 10 6:00 PM 10:00 PM X X X X X
Thursday, December 11 6:30 PM 10:30 PM X X X X X
Friday, December 12 6:30 PM 10:30 PM X X X X X
Saturday, December 13 6:30 PM 10:30 PM X X X X X
Sunday, December 14 12:30 PM 4:30 PM X X X X X
Wednesday, December 17 6:30 PM 10:30 PM X X X X X
Thursday, December 18 6:30 PM 10:30 PM X X X X X
Friday, December 19 6:30 PM Midnight X X X X X
© 2014 Irvine Valley College