Irvine Valley College Announces Winners of its First Student Composer's Competition   

Irvine Valley College takes great pride in announcing the winners of its first Student Composer’s Competition. The three winners are:

First Place: IVC student Alexander Roode, who won $300 for his composition “Avid Pursuits” for Piano. Second Place: Santa Margarita Catholic High School student Tyler Cotner, who won $200 for his composition Fantasia “Sine Somne” for Piano. Third Place: IVC Student Sina Karachiani, who won $100 for his composition “Overture” for Orchestra.

This was the first edition of the IVC Music: Student Composer’s Competition. It was developed by the IVC Music Theory and Composition area which is directed by Dr. Daniel Luzko. The competition was made possible by the generous support of ASIVC (IVC’s student government), who generously funded the monetary awards in each category.

The goal of the competition was to motivate the development of music writing at the high school and college level, giving student composers an opportunity to showcase their work using IVC performers, including the support of the IVC Choir, the IVC Orchestra, the IVC Wind Symphony and the IVC Keyboard areas.

The competition was open to IVC music students, as well as student composers of any nationality attending any U.S. high school (9th-12th grades), or any student who was enrolled in a music class at a community college in the United States. The age limit was 25.

The competition’s jury included three IVC music instructors, as well as a guest judge, composer Rocco Harris (winner of the MACCC composition competition in 2013).

First Place winner Alexander Roode’s composition “Avid Pursuits” will be performed at IVC on Saturday, April 12, 2014 at the Seventh Annual Student Composer’s Benefit Concert. It will be performed by IVC piano alumna Ha Young. Other works by IVC music students will be showcased at this event to be held in the IVC A311 Rehearsal Studio at 7:30 pm. Tickets are available at the Box Office or online at

Student Composer Competition 2014.jpg

Photo: From l to r: Dr. Daniel Luzko, Director of Music Theory and Composition at IVC, Second Place winner Tyler Cotner, Third Place winner Sina Karachiani, First Place winner Alexander Roode, and  Dr. David D. Gatewood, Dean of Fine Arts and Business Sciences.

The Irvine Valley College Marketing, Communications & Broadcast Services Department has made reasonable efforts to provide information that is accurate at the time of this posting.

Posted 4/2/2014
Links to this post or Share:      

Links to this post

Copyright © Irvine Valley College